Fellowships have been created to help ensure that the Meadowmount School of Music’s position as the premier training ground for young artists remains unchallenged.

The funding of these awards comes from the generosity of our alumni, friends of the School and those interested in helping Meadowmount continue to attract students of exceptional talent. Endowed fellowships are funded at a level that will generate yearly fellowships in perpetuity.

These awards include full tuition/room and board and are awarded by the Director in consultation with the appropriate faculty on an annual basis to our most outstanding applicants.

Fellowships currently awarded include:

The Ivan Galamian Memorial Fellowship
This award, honoring the founder of Meadowmount, is given to a significant musician demonstrating potential for an important professional career.

The Sally G. Thomas Fellowship
Established in 2014, our 70th year, to honor Ms. Thomas and her more than 65 years at Meadowmount. Awarded annually to an outstanding violinist.

Stephen Kates Memorial Fellowship
The Fellowship was created in 2012 with a generous contribution from Mrs. Mary Louise Kates to honor the memory of her husband. Stephen had been a prizewinner in the 1966 Tchaikovsky International Cello Competition, a longtime faculty member at the Peabody Institute of Music and Leonard Rose’s student at Meadowmount in 1961 and 1962.

Virginia Farmer Memorial Fellowship
Meadowmount School of Music alumna Dr. Virginia Farmer passed away on June 11, 2013 in Urbana, IL. Her entire collection of violins, violas and bows was bequeathed to Meadowmount to establish a “Virginia Farmer Memorial Scholarship” fund for deserving violin students. She attended Meadowmount from 1950 to 1955 as a violin student of Ivan Galamian and was coached in chamber music by Josef Gingold and Leonard Rose.

We continue to accept donations to honor Judith Galamian, Gregor Piatigorsky, Josef Gingold and Leonard Rose with a designated Fellowship.

To make a donation to the School click the DONATE button. To establish a fellowship in memory of a loved one or to include Meadowmount in your will contact:

Meadowmount School of Music
1424 County Route 10
Westport, New York 12993
Phone: (518) 962-2400

Announcement of the Sally G. Thomas Felowship

How Fellowships are Awarded:
Fellowships are awarded by the Director in consultation with the appropriate faculty to our most outstanding applicants.

Apply Page

Meadowmount Fellowships for 2017

Ivan Galamian Fellowship

Liam Kaplan - an award-winning pianist and composer who studies at Oberlin Conservatory. At Meadowmount Liam studies with Eric Larsen.

Sally Thomas Fellowship

Kenta Nomora – from New York, has won numerous violin competitions and attends the Juilliard School. Kenta studies with Ann Setzer at school and at Meadowmount.

Stephen Kates Memorial Fellowship

Zhihao Wu - a cello student from China who studies at the Mercer University, McDuffie Center for Strings. At Meadowmount and at Mercer, Zhihao studies with Hans Jørgen Jensen.

Virginia Farmer Fellowship

Yulu Gong - a violin student at the Central Conservatory of Music in China who has won numerous competitions. At Meadowmount Yulu studies with Gerardo Ribeiro.

Weilu Zhang - a violin, student from China who studies at the New England Conservatory of Music. At Meadowmount Weilu studies with Gerardo Ribeiro.

Back to top